Contrabassist and composer Xavier Foley (credit: Adam Kissick)

Earpiece #3: Xavier Foley plays Foley and Franck

Mark Gresham | 19 NOV 2020

Episode 3 of Earpiece, a new weekly series of audio and video presentations curated by EarRelevant’s publisher and principal writer Mark Gresham.

This week’s episode features contrabassist Xavier Foley, who performs as soloist in a special Atlanta Symphony Orcbestra virtual concert this week, performing the Double Bass Concerto No. 2 by Giovanni Bottesini (1821–1889). The ASO will also perform one of Foley’s own compositions, For Justice and Peace. Foley is an Atlanta native and alumnus of the ASO’s esteemed Talent Development Program (TDP).

↓ scroll down to view Earpiece video playlist ↓


In advance of that ASO virtual concert, we offer two YouTube videos featuring Foley performing first one of his own compositions for unaccompanied double bass, his Irish Fantasy, then with pianist Kelly Lin, he performs César Franck’s Sonata in A major, transcribed for contrabass from the original version for violin and piano.

Xavier Foley – doublebass
Xavier Foley: Irish Fantasy
César Franck: Sonata in A major
   I. Allegretto ben moderato
   II. Allegro
   III. Ben moderato: Recitativo-Fantasia
   IV. Allegretto poco mosso
Playlist Duration: 32:24
Click the “expand” button in lower right corner to enlarge (recommended)

More about Xavier Foley: ASO Biography
More about this week’s special ASO concert at

Note: YouTube videos are embedded in accordance with the YouTube Terms of Service.