The interior of spivey Hall.

Spivey Hall announces 2021-22 season, keyword is “flexibility”

EarRelevant Staff | 19 JUL 2021

MORROW, GA— After a year of video presentations in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Spivey Hall has announced its return to live performances with the 2021-22 season, which includes the 30th anniversary celebration of the hall’s magnificent Albert Schweitzer Memorial Organ, custom made by Fratelli Ruffatti. The exceptional south-side metro-Atlanta venue’s 31st Spivey Series has been planned with the understanding that public health conditions may still change unexpectedly.

In presenting its hallmark wealth of great music performed by outstanding artists, departing executive & artistic director Samuel C. Dixon offers assurance that “nothing is more important than the health and safety of our audiences, artists, and staff. Spivey Hall is committed to making your concert experiences safe and gratifying.” Season 31 is Dixon’s final curation prior to his retirement in August.


Advertisement
  • Spivey Hall = Jeremy Denk
  • AD ASO-2021-22-CS04 Nathalie Stultzmann

While programs have always been subject to change for various reasons even under normal circumstances, Dixon emphasizes that the keyword is “Flexibility” for this new season, especially with regard to patron services. Spivey Hall will be offering a greater degree of ability for patrons to change plans easily.

Here’s a chronological thumbnail of the 2021-22 Spivey Series offerings:

2021-2022 Spivey Series

  • Sunday, September 26, 2021 @ 3:00pm · Jeremy Denk, piano
  • Saturday, October 2, 2021 @ 3:00pm · The Franklin-Burke Spivey Hall Organ Discovery Day
  • Sunday, October 3, 2021 @ 3:00pm · Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello; Isata Kanneh-Mason, piano
  • Saturday, October 9, 2021 @ 3:00pm · Alan Morrison, organ
  • Sunday, November 7, 2021 @ 3:00pm · Modigliani Quartet
  • Saturday, November 13, 2021 @ 3:00pm · Jonathan Ryan, organ
  • Saturday, December 4, 2021 @ 7:30pm · Lisa Fischer with Taylor Eigsti (jazz)
  • Sunday, December 5, 2021 @ 3:00pm · Alexander Romanovsky, piano
  • Sunday, December 19, 2021 @ 3:00pm · Christmas with The King’s Singers
  • Saturday, January 22, 2022 @ 7:30pm · Regina Carter Quartet (jazz)
  • Saturday, February 5, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Gunnar Idenstam, organ; Erik Rydvall, nyckelharpa
  • Sunday, February 6, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Gerald Finley, bass-baritone; Julius Drake, piano
  • Saturday, February 19, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Castalian String Quartet
  • Sunday, February 20, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Steven Osborne, piano
  • Saturday, March 5, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Nathan Laube, organ
  • Sunday, March 6, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Jakub Józef Orliński, countertenor; Michał Biel, piano
  • Sunday, March 20, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Benjamin Grosvenor, piano
  • Saturday, March 26, 2022 @ 7:30pm · Sean Jones Quartet (jazz)
  • Sunday, March 27, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Hopkinson Smith, lute
  • Sunday, April 3, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Paul Lewis, piano
  • Saturday, April 9, 2022 @ 7:30pm · George Hinchliffe’s Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain
  • Sunday, April 10, 2022 @ 3:00pm · David Russell, guitar
  • Sunday, April 24, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Takács Quartet
  • Saturday, April 30, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Louis Lortie, piano
  • Saturday, May 7, 2022 @ 7:30pm · Gautier Capuçon, cello; Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano
  • Sunday, May 8, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Angelika Kirchschlager, mezzo-soprano; Julius Drake, piano
  • Saturday, May 21, 2022 @ 3:00pm · Alan Morrison & Friends
  • Sunday, May 22, 2022 @ 3:00pm · The Glenn Miller Orchestra

The complete season is on sale now at spiveyhall.org. The physical 31st Season book will be mailed out to patrons within the next two weeks. Persons not on the mailing list can request to be added to the list by contacting Spivey Hall.  ■

Published by EarRelevant ©2021 Lux Nova Press. All Rights Reserved.


Advertisement
  • ECMSA 2122 ad
  • AD SPIVEY HALL Sheku & Isata Kanneh-Mason 600 x 250
  • Spivey Hall - Organ Discovery Day

RECENT POSTS