vega String Quartet with guest violinist David Coucheron, January 22, 2021. credit: Concerts @ First)

EARPIECE #15: Vega Quartet plays music of Haydn and Borodin

Mark Gresham | 13 OCT 2022

Earpiece is a series of audio and video presentations curated by EarRelevant’s publisher and principal writer Mark Gresham.

This week’s Earpiece features a mid-pandemic concert co-presented by Emory Chamber Music Society of Atlanta and Concerts @ First, featuring the Vega Quartet with guest first violinist David Coucheron.

This “Bach’s Lunch” series noontime concert was performed on January 22, 2021, at First Presbyterian Church of Atlanta. Because presented during the pandemic, this was a streamed-only concert, with no live audience present — therefore, no applause is heard in the video. ECMSA artistic director William Ransom introduces each half of the program.

AD - The Hamptons festival of Music 2024

The pandemic delayed Vega Quartet’s search for a new first violinist at the time. In this interim period, David Coucheron, Concertmaster of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, served as the Quartet’s guest first violinist. The three members of the Vega Quartet performing with him were violinist Jessica Shuang Wu, violist Yinzi Kong, and cellist Guang Wang.

In this program, they perform Haydn’s “Emperor” Quartet and Borodin’s String Quartet No. 2. The Vega String Quartet has been Emory University’s Quartet-in-Residence for over a decade.  

View the video below. Note: YouTube videos are embedded in accordance with the YouTube TOS.

BACH’S LUNCH, 22 JAN 2021. Duration: 1:04:22

January 22, 2021
First Presbyterian Church of Atlanta
Atlanta, Georgia – USA

David Coucheron & Jessica Wu, violins; Yinzi Kong, viola; Guang Wang, cello.

Joseph HAYDN: Quartet in C major, Op. 76 No. 3 (“Emperor”)
Alexander BORODIN: String Quartet No. 2 in D major


Vega Quartet:
Emory Chamber Music Society of Atlanta:
Concerts @ First:


Mark Gresham

Mark Gresham is publisher and principal writer of EarRelevant. he began writing as a music journalist over 30 years ago, but has been a composer of music much longer than that. He was the winner of an ASCAP/Deems Taylor Award for music journalism in 2003.